Tuesday, April 26, 2005

APFL news from around the league.

Blackhawks open with victory!

April 23, 2005 – The Iowa Blackhawks opened their 2005 American Professional Football campaign with a convincing 40-35 victory over the Wichita Aviators on Saturday night at the Kansas Coliseum. Quarterback Chuck Wright led Iowa 's offense with 172 yards passing and 4 touchdowns. Wide receiver Yano Jones also had an excellent game with 8 receptions for 86 yards and 2 touchdowns.

Blackhawks announce five-game television deal

The deal includes Cox Communications providing video production for closed-circuit broadcasts and the taping of all five home games for tape delay broadcast on Cox Channel 2 the following Sunday at 6 p.m.

Minutemen 'D' crushes Storm

The Missouri Minutemen scored so many points even the scoreboard couldn't keep up.
By the time the Minutemen's first American Professional Football League game in Sedalia was over, the scoreboard showed 63-18.
Missouri actually won 65-18, drubbing the Kansas Storm in its first-ever APFL game.

Morris Day & the Time in concert immediately following May 14th home opener

Nebraska Bears owner Mike Carter announced today that the hottest funk & soul group of all-time, Morris Day and the Time, will be the featured performers in concert, immediately following the Bears home-opener against the Wichita Aviators on Saturday, May 14th, at 7:00 PM.

One piece of old news that is worth note:

Bears season opener in Topeka to be televised live in Omaha market

Nebraska Bears owner Mike Carter announced today that Cox Cable will be televising "live" the season opening game from Topeka, Kansas, against the never-beaten and three-time champion Kansas Koyotes of the American Professional Football League. [...]
Carter also announced that the live telecast will be replayed Sunday, April 24th at 6:00 PM on Cox Channel 02. Additionally, all of the Bears home games will be televised on a delayed basis every Sunday at 6:00 PM, on Cox Channel 02.

It looks like the Koyotes aren't the only 'real' team in the APFL this year.

No comments: