Saturday, June 04, 2005

Eleven Teams To Compete in 2006 NLL Season (article)

Even though now is the time that the NLL should be making strides in popularity they have announced that they will only be up one more team for next year.

The National Lacrosse League has announced the league will consist of eleven teams for the 2006 season. The eleven-team league will include expansion teams in Edmonton, Alberta and Portland, Oregon. The Anaheim Storm lacrosse club has suspended operations, and will not play during the 2006 season. Applications for expansion teams in the New York and New England markets will remain under consideration as expansion candidates for the 2007 season.

I would think that they would like to stick around at least one more year to see if they can capitalize on the follies of the NHL, so there must be some real fanatical trouble at Anaheim.

I donno, maybe soccer will be the fourth sport...

No comments: